Maxximillian Dafoe

We can do it together…

In Obama '08, presidential election on June 27, 2008 at 12:02 am

I feel that this is the most exciting presidential election of our time. It is certainly the most groundbreaking election year in American history. Clearly, I’m not the only one that feels this way. I cannot remember any time since I’ve been alive, neither any time before my birth when so many people felt so publicly passionate about their candidate. Sure, Mtv has encouraged voting and by extension celebrities have appeared in campaigns encouraging voting- but those campaigns were encouraging people to just get out and vote for someone, anyone! Never before, have I seen so many people actively advocating their candidate. Even among family members, who one elected to vote for was a question that if asked, one really didn’t have to answer. It was acceptable to say, “I’d prefer to keep it to myself”, until after the ballots were counted. Perhaps, we were all too ashamed to say which of the unsavory characters we punched the chad for- I had a feeling my candidate would lose. He was, in my opinion, the best of what was available. Though, in all honesty, I didn’t feel any of the choices we’ve had in the last election years were what America needs.

I know what we have this year. An opportunity for change that improves and soothes, progress that we can see and feel and hope that yields it’s promise. And while usually, I’m the first person to admit, I don’t need a bandwagon to jump onto, it feels so good to see that I am not alone in my passion for the best candidate.
But you don’t have to take my word for it…

Leave a Reply

