Maxximillian Dafoe

Skunk Anansie

In Photos, Photoshoot on July 8, 2008 at 11:59 am

These are more virtual contact sheets from a shoot I did last spring with Tomoko Matsushita. If you are interested in shooting with her, you can find a link to her site on my sidebar. She is the best photographer in Los Angeles, hands down.

My good friend, Paul Inder, introduced me to this UK band called Skunk Anansie while we were working on a song of our own in his studio. Something I did vocally, he said, was reminiscent of the lead singer, Skin (a.k.a. Deborah Dyer).

Usually, being likened to another singer/actor/artist is about as flattering as being told that you left the butter out on the countertop overnight but before I could get my panties all in a bunch, Paul threw on their album. I wanted to slap my own face; the greatness of the music and the overall style of the band is jawdropping. Fully understanding that I’d received such a great complement, I got all mushy inside. “I… remind you… of. (gulp) of Skin,” I sniveled? Probably the best complement a girl singer could want. Though, sadly, from what Paul has told me, the band has long since disbanded, which saddened me. This is a band I would have gone to see. Here’s a peek.

Leave a Reply

