Maxximillian Dafoe

You Gotta Respect A Dreamer

In American Airlines, preternatural, reel clips, respect for the dreamer on July 8, 2008 at 3:38 pm

While other people may say what they will of the industry I’m in: I love it. Where else can I rake so many leaves (make so much money) for doing something joyous and for so little time? Case in point: the American Airlines commercial I had the good fortune to book. It was a direct booking, I didn’t audition for the role and – here is the sweet spot, my agent hadn’t even submitted me on it. To this day, we don’t know how it happened that the casting director called my agent and booked me by name – although I do have a [spiritual] theory, which I may share in another post. Now, I know what you may be thinking but, I had not worked with that director ever before, neither anyone else on the crew or in the cast. I wasn’t even familiar with the advertising agency. Really, this job was just a gift. Phone call from my agent one day and the next day, I was due on the set in the afternoon. What a dream. Probably the most pleasant job I’ve ever done. Glorious day outside and I was in and out within – I think – four hours or so. There were about ten or so actors. All of us playing family members at a family reunion. No direction really, just hang around and stand together for a family photo. That was it. No one had any lines to speak. Just being there is all we were asked to do. It was a national spot and I don’t know how long they aired it but I was the beneficiary of a good bit of loot… A really good bit.

Under the circumstances, it seems most unlikely that they used a ouija board to summon my name and agency number from the netherworld – although this too would have been a spot of good luck – however, I do believe there were/are/will forevermore be preternatural forces at work. Tangible forces which remain unseen. We are, all of us, masters of our universe. Science shows us over and over again that we do influence events and order with our intentions and our minds. I remember my state of mind when I was gifted that commercial.

It is with great certainty that I know that when my heart is full with love and my countenance glowing and golden with excitement that pure golden goodness courses through my veins, fueling my brain and influencing my mind. When we are in the highest (read: creative) state of mind: Nothing is ever “too good to be true”.

So, without further ado, here is one of the American Airlines commercials I did. They made a few versions of this commercial. This is the thirty second spot. There is also a longer cut of it, in which I am most visible and (someday) soon, I’ll post that too. In the meantime, see if you can spot me.

Leave a Reply

