Maxximillian Dafoe

The Big 2010 = Ambition

In My work, respect for the dreamer on April 26, 2010 at 7:36 pm

My goals for 2010:

  1. Have a poem or short fiction published in The New Yorker
  2. Write 1 (truly brilliant) play
  3. Write and record 30 songs… Yes, thirty.  But…  Er.  More on that later.
  4. Shop my album for major distribution – comprised of 10 of the best of the above
  5. Do (at least) 4 tour dates with any great band(s)
  6. Score the best theatrical agent (EVER!) – because, seriously, it is that time and I do want this next one to be the best one I’ve ever had (so far).
  7. Fill the 4 empty canvases hanging on my wall with art that I like to look at
  8. Finish the one nearly complete painting on my wall that I do love to look at
  9. Become addicted to physical exercise… no sex doesn’t count.  First of all, it doesn’t hardly burn the calories that other activities do – even when you do it right AND because I need something I can do on my own… You just save your witty commentary.
  10. Really do all that I can to make myself known to/meet/audition for the casting directors of all of my favorite television shows that film here in Los Angeles
  11. Notably improve my on camera technique for commercial auditions
  12. Enjoy the all the swag that comes with being paid well for art (read: acting/writing/performing music/songwriting/painting/creative production) well done
  13. Visit (at least) 2 other countries– preferably while I’m filming a movie
  14. Take at least 1 pleasure trip
Main Entry: 1 am·bi·tion
Pronunciation: \am-ˈbi-shən\
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle English, from Middle French or Latin; Middle French, from Latin ambition-, ambitio, literally, act of soliciting for votes, from ambire
Date: 14th century

1 a : an ardent desire for rank, fame, or power b : desire to achieve a particular end
2 : the object of ambition <her ambition is to start her own business>
3 : a desire for activity or exertion <felt sick and had no ambition>

synonyms ambition, aspiration, pretension mean strong desire for advancement. ambition. aspiration implies a striving after something higher than oneself and usually implies that the striver is thereby ennobled <an aspiration to become president someday>. pretension suggests ardent desire for recognition of accomplishment often without actual possession of the necessary ability and therefore may imply presumption <has literary pretensions>. applies to the desire for personal advancement or preferment and may suggest equally a praiseworthy or an inordinate desire <driven by
ambition. (2010). In Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary.
Retrieved April 26, 2010, from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ambition
  1. If anyone can do it, you can. You are the Energizer bunny!
    Hope we can catch up soon. Let me know if you ever make it out to DC.

  2. By the way, I DID submit to The New Yorker today. 😉

Leave a Reply

