Maxximillian Dafoe

What I Had Just Finished Reading

In literature on August 17, 2010 at 8:38 pm

As you may well guess, titles in contrasting color are highly recommended.  If I find a book particularly thrilling, I’ll recommend it.  I enjoy many books- though I do not recommend them all.  Those in brighter colors I found wildly entertaining or in some cases, deliciously diabolical.  You’ll find no romance novels here, nor heartbreaking drama.  I do not care to read A River Runs Through It.  Neither 7 Pounds– compelling though surely they may be–  I need the pulse to quicken.  I need to be compelled to hurl the book across the room as I exclaim, “Bullshit!” or “No fuckin’ way!!!” only to gingerly run to pick it up  and turning in circles, read the passage over again.  Of course, what it boils down to, in my humble, is a matter of both mood and taste.  Augusten Burroughs’ Sellevision is a far cry from Agatha Christie’s Poirot mysteries and I require both.  Last year, my favorite novel was Calisto by Torsten Krol.  Bad Things Happen, a mystery novel by Harry Dolan was so exciting that I had to stop reading it every few chapters to twitter about how f-ing fabulous the characters and story were.  I have other favorites– for instance, The Tummy Trilogy by Calvin Trillin, an avid eater who writes solely about great food in unexpected places and I laughed out loud in public while reading My Goat Ate Its Own Legs by Alex Burrett.  Following is what I’ve read most recently.

And by the way, if you’re an writer and having judged me by my reading list, you think you’d like me to read your work(s), please feel free to drop me a line.  Leave me a comment or a message on Twitter.  AND if you’re reading this and you have  a book that you found AMAZING, leave a comment with the book title and author.  Now, without further ado, here’s what I’ve read….

What I was reading in the beginning of Spring

The Well Fed Writer by Peter Bowerman
The Game by Laurie R. King

That Week (April 16th, 2010)
The Game by Laurie R. King
Book of Poisons by Stevens and Bannon
Wisdom of the Mystic Masters by Joseph Weed

The Week Before That
A Crime In The Neighborhood by Suzanne Berne
Sticks & Scones by Diane Mott Davidson

The Previous Month
Hannibal by Tom Harris

Previously Still
Down Around Midnight by Robert Sabbag
Murder Unprompted by Simon Brett

February 1st, 2010
The Harvest by Amy Hempel (Recommended by Chuck Palahniuk)
Today Will Be a Quiet Day by Amy Hempel
Offertory by Amy Hempel

Yesterday (from February 1, 2010)
The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding by Agatha Christie
Sicken And So Die by Simon Brett

The day before yesterday (from February 1, 2010)
In the Deathroom by Stephen King
Lunch at the Gotham Cafe by Stephen King

Three days ago (from February 1, 2010)
The Boogeyman by Stephen King
The Doctor’s Case by Stephen King

Last Week (from February 1, 2010)
Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk
From A Buick 8 by Stephen King

Last Month (from February 1, 2010)
Sellevision by Augusten Burroughs
Duma Key by Stephen King
When You Are Engulfed In Flames by David Sedaris
Possible Side Effects by Augusten Burroughs

Leave a Reply

